The Secret DOS

The Little Emperor Strikes Back

Goodbye, sweet friends.

Ladies, gentlemen and all others

I write to take my leave of you. I have no more to say. It has been a thrilling few years and I have found the writing and the exchanges cathartic in the extreme.

I have discovered ancient philosophy and am drawn to the conclusion that none of the rest really matters very much. I have an itch to blog about  the application of ancient wisdom to my contemporary life. To that end, I have opened a new blog and you will be more than welcome should you ever wish to stop by there. I warn you now, I would be most surprised should ELT ever make an appearance. The new blog is called Chimp Jim and Me and can be found at chimpjim.wordpress.com. It is empty for now, but won’t be for long.

You have all been very kind to me and this has always been much appreciated. May your lives be full of life and your deaths be quick and timely.

Ann

24 Jul 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

15 Comments »

  1. Wishing you all the best in your future endeavours, your Secrecy. Hope the blogging there proves as useful for you there as you say it has here. As no doubt it has been for others who have commented here, finding a voice that challenges some of the assumed wisdoms of ELT, and one you find chiming with your own questions and doubts about the profession is a rare treasure.

    A humble request: please do not delete this blog.

    All the best

    Comment by Mike Harrison | 24 Jul 2014 | Reply

  2. End of an era. You’ll be missed. And I echo Mike’s request to leave the blog archived for eternity….

    Comment by paulsimonduffy | 24 Jul 2014 | Reply

  3. You will be much missed. Thanks for everything and I’ll see you over there on the new blog. Lots of love. .

    Comment by geoffjordan | 24 Jul 2014 | Reply

  4. Dear SecretDOS,

    I’ve enjoyed all your posts and read them from some bizarre places, now including a crowded hostal in Antalya, Turkey. I’m happy to hear you’ll continue sharing your thoughts on the new blog. Still waiting for the SecretDOS book to come out.

    A fan,

    Laura.

    Comment by laurasoracco | 24 Jul 2014 | Reply

  5. Thank you.

    Comment by flakycrow | 25 Jul 2014 | Reply

  6. Enjoy your freedom from the tyranny of daily checking. I will miss your comments, your humour and your honesty. I wish you a well earned rest, regards,Connie

    Comment by Connie OGrady | 25 Jul 2014 | Reply

  7. All the best dear SecretDos! Enjoy the new journey. I’ll be visiting the archive from time to time, if you decide to attend our request. Thanks for all the thought provoking posts. Very much needed in education/ELT world. 🙂 Warm hugs from Brazil.

    Comment by Rose Bard | 25 Jul 2014 | Reply

  8. No!
    This is a loss.
    I have enjoyed reading this blog so much.
    Your insights, turn of phrase, wit – and rare ability to say exactly what you think – will be sorely missed.
    All the best with your new blog.

    Comment by JoshSRound | 25 Jul 2014 | Reply

  9. Oh, no. What a rotten start to the weekend, Still, will be following your new blog. Get cracking on it.

    Comment by vilgessuola | 26 Jul 2014 | Reply

  10. Ah….I will miss the secretdos – you said more eloquently than most the things that trouble us in ELT. Bewell and see you lapa side.

    Comment by Candy van Olst | 26 Jul 2014 | Reply

  11. Why?! Is this decision connected to your previous post?

    Comment by ashowski | 27 Jul 2014 | Reply

  12. Like many of us regarding death I will choose to live in denial regarding the end of this blog.
    Thanks so much for all the insights and laughs.

    Comment by mikecorea | 28 Jul 2014 | Reply

  13. Like many other EFL teachers I know, I’ve never been so fortunate as to have a DOS where I work. I couldn’t believe how lucky I was when I found your blog. I looked forward to every post and comment. Thank you for sharing and inviting others to share. It has been helpful for me professionally and pure joy to read. Thank you sincerely and best wishes in all you do.

    Comment by cherylannf | 30 Jul 2014 | Reply

  14. “Contract thy whole life to the measure and proportion of one single action.” (Marcus Aurelius, Meditations VIII / XXX)
    I’m very grateful that this is exactly what you did with this blog.
    Onwards!

    Comment by Wiktor Kostrzewski (@Wiktor_K) | 08 Aug 2014 | Reply

  15. I’m really going to miss your blog. I loved the way you used humour and attention to detail to make a teacher’s world come alive.

    Comment by joannalw | 21 Aug 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

